ACS Northwest Regional Meeting 2016

Alaska ACS Section

In Alaska, there is only one section of the American Chemical Society - the Alaska Local Section, which we also call the Alaska Chemical Society.  The Alaska Chemical Society is divided into three "sub-sections":  Fairbanks, Anchorage, and Juneau.  In 2012, the Chair of the Alaska Chemical Society is Dr. William A. Howard, an associate professor of chemistry at the University of Alaska Fairbanks.

 The Alaska Chemical Society exists for the purposes of (1) educating the public about chemistry, (2) recognizing persons and events relevant for advancing chemistry-related causes in the state of Alaska, and (3) lobbying Alaska's lawmakers to make chemically wise decisions.

About the American Chemical Society

The American Chemical Society (ACS) is the world’s largest scientific society and one of the world’s leading sources of authoritative scientific information. A nonprofit organization, chartered by Congress, ACS is at the forefront of the evolving worldwide chemical enterprise and the premier professional home for chemists, chemical engineers and related professions around the globe.